• Want to learn more?

  • Follow Leah on Twitter!

  • Most Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Quilting Bloggers Logo

New Focus, New Goals

This October was an absolutely spectacular month for my quilting business.

No, I didn’t sell a huge quilt for thousands of dollars.

No, I didn’t get contracted to make patterns for a big name company.

No, I didn’t even finish my braided bag tote pattern.

Instead I just refocused my goals and decided to learn how to really finish a quilt.  I was feeling pretty down about my quilting ability.  Piecing is fairly easy for me and is no longer a struggle to cut and piece fabrics very accurately.

But my quilting has always been less than stellar.

It’s not that I’m a bad quilter, I always had a fair amount of talent.  The problem was I couldn’t “see” what quilting design to use on certain areas of a quilt.  I assumed (wrongly) that all patterns had to be freeform and built into muscle memory so I could pull them out whenever needed.

Now for background filler quilting patterns, that is definitely true.  It’s important to know how to stipple, McTavish, do paisleys, and echo quilting at will.  I already had this ability, what I lacked was the insight as to how to design the quilting pattern to support, if not set off the piecing.

So in the past month, I’ve been a little MIA on this blog, and for good reason.  I’ve been working.

What I’ve discovered is the wonderful world of trapunto and just how amazing this technique is for quilting. Using this newfound skill, I took this quilt top (view above) and instead of doing random, meandering lines all over it, I’ve finished it with style!

Of course, the first attempt at a new technique isn’t always perfect. I definitely learned a lot with this first project and will post more about those lessons soon.  What I gained from this experience was the knowledge of how to look at a quilt pattern and see the potential quilting lines that could enhance it.  How to “see” that inner pattern and have the guts to draw and design new elements for a quilt that might otherwise have been finished very simply.

My newfound focus and goal are definitely starting to play out with my life and quilting business. I’m ready to devote real time and energy to making this business a success and it’s so exciting to share this moment with you!

One Response

  1. Research shows that writing your goals down is extremely effective in helping you to reach them. If you’re not familiar with writing goals down, look up SMART goals on the internet and you’ll find lots of information.

    Wishing you success!

    Denise
    http://www.successforrealpeople.com

Leave a Reply

