• Want to learn more?

  • Follow Leah on Twitter!

  • Most Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Quilting Bloggers Logo

Vacation Pics and Angelwing Needle Arts Quilt Shop Review

I need this shelf!

Okay, I’ve finally decided to get my head out of the sand and download my vacation pictures off my digital camera. Here goes:

This is a shelf with drawers that would be just perfect in my sewing room, filled with yarn and thread. Unfortunately the $180 price tag didn’t exactly fit into our vacation budget, so I think I’ll just make one myself. It doesn’t look very complicated does it?

This picture on the right is sunrise on the last day of our trip.

Looking back at my pictures, that sunrise I watched was much more beautiful than I realized. It seems that my Canon 400 is magical – things are more beautiful through it’s lens after the fact than it was in real life!

I found some pretty neat trees to photograph while getting on the ferry to the aquarium. You may not be able to see it with this small photo, but this tree had a very interesting twisted trunk. I’ve gotta use this in a quilt.

Of course, it wouldn’t be a vacation if I didn’t find some place to spend money on fabric. Here’s what I picked up:

That little tool in the yellow package is actually a finger stiletto tool I’ve been looking for for a long time. It attaches to your finger and allows you to guide small bits of fabric under your needle without potentially sewing your finger.

By the way, if you’re ever in Southport, NC and are looking for a good quilting / crafting shop to check out, you’ve got to check out Angelwing Needle Arts. It’s a wonderful shop in an old house full of yarn, fabric, patterns, and gadgets. I love how they have it set up in several rooms. As you browse through each room you really have to pay attention, they have stuff stuck everywhere!

You will need to be careful while browsing this store – you might just leave with new projects or a whole new craft. Their embroidery patterns were really fun, and even though I’m not into that kind of thing, it’s always nice to see what’s available.

I didn’t realize until after I had left town that they have a knitting group and stitching group that meet throughout the week. I wasn’t expecting any craft stores in the area at all because I had throughly Googled Southport, NC and the surrounding area and come up empty handed. There were several shops in Wilmington, NC, but that was just too far to drive when we had a 6 hour trip home to look forward to.

It just goes to show, the best way to know about an area is still getting into your car and driving around!

Leave a Reply

