My Banana Baby

My baby James dressed up for Halloween

Halloween is probably my favorite holiday, but I never seem to have it all together. Maybe it’s just the time of year, I don’t know, but I just find that Halloween usually springs up on me out of the blue and I’m caught without a costume, without decorations, and totally bummed out because of it.

This year I saw it coming, but made no effort to prevent it. I just didn’t have the money, time, or energy to mess with decorating for the fall. I’ve vowed that next year I’m going to do much better.

My saving grace was this Halloween costume I found for James. I didn’t want to make his costume this year, so I instead went out the day of Halloween to look for one instead. Some places had already reduced their costumes so I began the long, tedious process of going through the half dismantled, completely out of order costume racks.

Picture 2 of James as a bananaAnd lo and behold, I found the best one there! I saw this yellow monstrosity from afar and as I tried to figure out exactly what it was I realized – It’s a Banana! There was no second guessing, no considering, I didn’t even look at the price tag (cause someone else had ripped it off apparently), my son was going to be a banana for Halloween and that was that.

James took to the whole costume thing quite well, considering this costume plastered his legs together and converted his normally wiggly body into a very tight, Twinkie like package. I only made him wear it for 5 minutes at a time, enough for me to shoot a few pictures. I think we will all agree that he is cute enough to eat!

Leave a Reply

