• Want to learn more?

  • Follow Leah on Twitter!

  • Most Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Quilting Bloggers Logo

Latest Fabric Idea

I have a problem. I have a serious fabric problem. It’s everywhere! How do I organize this stuff? How do I make it easy for me to see what I have and what I don’t?

Well, I think I have the answer. I was thinking the other day that it would be so much easier if I could browse through my fabric stash like I do my closet and WHAM! it hit me – why not make it that easy!?

I have a laundry room off my sewing studio that has hanging bars for clothes to dry on. I never hang clothes to dry so it’s pretty much unused at the moment. My plan is to take all my fabric, iron it, and hang it all from hangers. This way I can browse through my stash of fat quarters and yardage to find the colors I need easier. I also think this will make matching colors and finding connections easier.

This won’t, of course, help with my overwhelming supply of scraps. Honestly, I’m not sure if help can be found for the mountain of odds and ends quilters end up with in the wake of any quilting project. I’ll think on that problem awhile and hopefully I’ll get another WHAM! idea!

Have a nice day!

Leah

4 Responses

  1. Leah, Have you ever heard of “Locker Hooking”? It can be done with fabric strips. If your scraps are 1 inch and at least 12 inches long you can make some great things with them. Wal-Mart has books, tools and canvas. My quilting friends give me their leftover strips. Just thought I would share.

    Lee

  2. Hi Lee,
    Thanks for the tip. I’ve heard of this before. I end up with a lot of pieces smaller than 2″ square. What would you do with these little pieces? I know appliqués are nice, and I’ve been looking into foundation piecing too.

    There’s just so many choices!

    Leah

  3. Leah…

    I have lots of sewing room organization tips on my blog. Under CATEGORIES, select SEWING ORANIZATION. Hopefully it will give you some ideas on what to do with your fabric stash.

    Have a great day!

    With friendship,
    Lisa
    http://thedomesticdiva.wordpress.com

  4. Hey Lisa,
    Great site! You have tons of great info. Thanks for all the tips.

    By the way, what’s up with all the pink? 🙂

    Leah

Leave a Reply

